• White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2019 by Leonardo Muzii

Leonardo Muzii (*1965) grew up in Naples where he received his first musical education on cello, piano and recorder. After high school he studied recorder at the Conservatory of Rotterdam (NL) obtaining a diploma as a soloist and has received several awards in international competitions including the Yamaha Foundation of Europe/Utrecht, van Wassenaer Prize/Amsterdam, Bourse aux jeunes interprètes/Losanna. A Dutch scholarship allowed him to deepen his knowledge of the practice of baroque music at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. In addition, Leonardo Muzii has performed as a soloist and chamber musician at numerous international music festivals throughout Europe including Utrecht, Urbino, Innsbruck, Brezice and, repeatedly, in Japan. He has also taught at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik, Karlsruhe (D) and at the conservatories of Bern and Biel (CH).

 

His interest in the orchestral repertoire and, in particular, in the classical-romantic repertoire, also seen from the point of view of historically informed performance practice (HIP), led him to study conducting. In addition to graduating in conducting from the Lucerne Academy of Music in the class of Prof. Thüring Bräm, he has participated in numerous master classes with internationally renowned masters including Thomas Koutnik, Jonathan Nott and Jorma Panula.

 

His activity as a conductor takes place in Switzerland and abroad with programs of ancient, classical and contemporary music, collaborating with renowned soloists such as, among others, Hansheinz Schneeberger, Alexander Dubach, Sergio Azzolini, Lisa Larsson and Maria Cristina Kiehr. In recent years he has been repeatedly invited to talk about musical themes at Bocconi University as well as, in 2019, at the University of Verona.

 

Leonardo Muzii recently received Swiss citizenship and lives in Basel where he founded and conducts the Camerata Rousseau.

• White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Google Places Social Icon

© 2019 by Leonardo Muzii

Leonardo Muzii (*1965) wuchs in Neapel auf, wo er seine erste musikalische Ausbildung auf Cello, Klavier und Blockflöte erhielt. Nach dem Abitur studierte er Blockflöte am Konservatorium von Rotterdam (NL) und erhielt das Solistendiplom und mehrere Auszeichnungen bei internationalen Wettbewerben, darunter die Yamaha Foundation of Europe/Utrecht, van Wassenaer Prize/Amsterdam, Bourse aux jeunes interprètes/Lausanne. Ein niederländisches Stipendium ermöglichte es ihm, seine Kenntnisse über die Praxis der Barockmusik an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis zu vertiefen. Leonardo Muzii trat auch als Solist und Kammermusiker bei zahlreichen internationalen Musikfestivals in ganz Europa auf, darunter Utrecht, Urbino, Innsbruck, Brezice und wiederholt Japan. Er war auch als Dozent an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in Karlsruhe (D) und an den Konservatorien Bern und Biel (CH) tätig.

 

Sein Interesse am Orchesterrepertoire und insbesondere am klassisch-romantischen Repertoire, auch aus der Sicht der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis (HIP), führte ihn zum Dirigierstudium. Neben dem Abschluss als Dirigent an der Hochschule für Musik Luzern in der Klasse von Prof. Thüring Bräm hat er zahlreiche Meisterkurse bei international renommierten Meistern wie Thomas Koutnik, Jonathan Nott und Jorma Panula absolviert.

 

Seine Tätigkeit als Dirigent findet im In- und Ausland mit Programmen der Alten, Klassischen und Neuen Musik statt, und er arbeitet mit renommierten Solisten wie Hansheinz Schneeberger, Julia Schroeder, Sergio Azzolini, Lisa Larsson und Maria Cristina Kiehr zusammen.

 

Leonardo Muzii erhielt kürzlich das Schweizer Bürgerrecht und lebt in Basel, von wo aus er die Camerata Rousseau gründete und leitet.